Terracotta female protome, found in a tomb, Macri Langoni,  525-500 BC. Archaeological Museum of Rhodes. Image: Wikimedia Commons

Coroplastic Studies Interest Group
Promoting the Study of Sculptural Objects Made in Clay from Antiquity


 
  Home   ·    About the CSIG   ·    Newsletter   ·   Reviews   ·   Bibliography   ·   Links  ·   Membership   ·   Archive   ·   Contact

Last update:
January 3, 2015

 



Membership, Coroplastic Studies Interest Group

Membership in the Coroplastic Studies Interest Group (CSIG) is available to members of the Archaeological Institute of America, and to anyone with an interest in the study of terracotta figurines and other sculptural objects in clay from antiquity. Although formed by classical archaeologists working at ancient sites around the Mediterranean and Black Sea areas, the CSIG welcomes those scholars conducting research on terracotta figurines from other areas of the world, such as Central and South America, Africa, south-east Asia, and the Pacific rim. We also extend membership to colleagues in anthropology, history, and religious studies, among other disciplines.

To become a CSIG member
please contact:
Professor Caitlin Elis Barrett, (ceb329@cornell.edu),
confirm your membership in the AIA, provide a brief sentence on your areas of interest, your institutional affiliation, and your contact information.

Membership, Association for Coroplastic Studies
If you are not a member of the AIA we encourage you to join the Association for Coroplastic Studies (ACoSt) by contacting Jaimee Uhlenbrock (uhlenbrj@hawkmail.newpaltz.edu).

CSIG Current Membership

Rebecca Ammerman
Colgate University (Rammerman@mail.colgate.edu), terracottas from south Italy

Virginia Anderson-Stojanovic
Wilson College, Chambersburg, PA(vstojanovic@wilson.edu), Greek terracottas

Erica Angliker 
London, Zürich (erica.morais.angliker@access.uzh.ch), terracottas from the Cyclades

Erin Walcek Averett
Creighton University, Omaha (erinaverett@creighton.edu), Greek Geometric terracottas, Cypriote terracottas

Caitlin Barrett (CSIG Chair)
cornell University (ceb329@cornell.edu), Egyptianizing terracottas

Ilaria Battiloro
Mount Allison University, New Brunswick, Canada (ibattiloro@mta.ca) terracottas from south Italy

Malcolm Bell,
University of Virginia, Charlottesville (mb2s@virginia.edu), terracottas from Morgantina, Sicily

Heather Bowyer
Arizona State University (hbowyer@asu.edu), terracotta and bronze grotesque figurines from the Hellenistic period

Stephanie Budin
Rutgers University, Camden, NJ (sbudin@camden.rutgers.edu), kourotrophic terracottas

Jennifer Butterworth
University of Memphis (jennybutterworth@yahoo.com), terracottas and gender in the Old World and New World

Erin Darby
University of Tennessee (erin.kuhns@duke.edu), terracottas from Israel

Michèle Daviau
Wilfrid Laurier University (micheledaviaudion@yahoo.ca), terracottas from Jordan

Sheila Dillon
Duke University (sheila.dillon@duke.edu), terracotta figurines from the Sanctuary of the Great Gods, Samothrace; hydriaphoroi

Lynn Dodd
University of Southern California (swartz@usc.edu), terracottas of northern Mesopotamia and the northern Levant

Michael Anthony Fowler
Columbia University (maf2209@columbia.edu), votive terracottas 

Amy R. Gansell
Emory University, Atlanta (amy.r.gansell@emory.edu) Mesopotamian mould-made terracottas

Geraldine Gesell
University of Tennessee, Knoxville (ggesell@utk.edu), terracottas of Minoan Crete
Università degli Studi di Palermo (claudiagu86@yahoo.it), Sicilian terracottas from sacred contexts

Marcie Handler
University of Cincinnati (marcie(at)agathe.gr), terracottas from Athens

Kim J. Hartswick
City University of New York (KHartswick@gc.cuny.edu), terracottas from Corinth

Sarah Hawley
University of Southern California (shawley@usc.edu), Persian and Hellenistic terracottas from Tell al-Judaidah (Turkey

Peri Johnson
University of Pennsylvania (peri.johnson@gmail.com) Hellenistic and Roman terracottas from Turkey

Deborah Brown Kazazis
(dbkazazi@gmail.com), Macedonian terracottas/ Classical-Hellenistic Greek terracottas

SeungJung Kim 
Columbia University (sk2562@columbia.edu), terracottas from Sicily and Gandhara

Theo Kopestonsky
University of Tennessee (tkopesto@gmail.com), Corinthian terracottas

Susan Langdon
University of Missouri, Columbia (langdons@missouri.edu), Greek terracottas, religion, Demeter and Kore

Stephanie Langin-Hooper
Bowling Green State University (slangin@bgsu.edu), Babylonian terracottas of the Hellenistic period

Stephanie Larson
Bucknell University (slarson@bucknell.edu) terracottas from Boeotia (Greece)

S. Rebecca Martin
Southeast Missouri State University (srmartin@semo.edu),, Phoenician terracottas

Shannon Martino
University of Pennsylvania (smartino@sas.upenn.edu), Chalcolithic to Early Bronze Age clay figurines from southeast Europe and Turkey

Maya Muratov
Adelphi University (maya.muratov@nyu.edu), terracottas from the Bosporan Kingdom (Black Sea)

Elizabeth Murphy
Brown University (elizabeth_murphy@brown.edu), late Roman/ Early Byzantine coroplasts' workshops at Sagalassos (Turkey)

Ioannis Mylonopoulos
Columbia University (jm3193@columbia.edu), terracottas from Ithaka (Greece)

Alex Nagel
Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C. (nagela@si.edu), terracottas from Akarnania (Greece)

Helen Nagy
University of Puget Sound (inagy@ups.edu), Etruscan terracottas

Tuna Şare 
Çanakkale Onsekiz Mart University (tunasare@gmail.com), late Classical terracotta figurines from Assos (Turkey)

Philip Sapirstein
University of Nebraska-Lincoln, architectural terracottas

Nancy Serwint
Arizone State University, Tempe (Nancy.Serwint@asu.edu), terracottas of Marion (Cyprus)

Heather Sharpe
West Chester University, Pennsylvania (hssharpe@wcupa.edu), terracottas of Oynthus and northern Greece

Loeta Tyree
American School of Classical Studies (eltyree@hol.gr) Cretan Bronze Age figurines and religion with a specific interest in Minoan sacred caves